If you’re caught in any kind of traffic violation, the typical result is points on your license. While it may not seem like a big deal, especially in comparison to criminal charges, with their fines, court fees, and potential jail time, racking up even a few points on your license can cause a serious headache, and could put a damper on your travel plans for work, vacation, and anything else you need to do by car.
Typical violations include well-known offenses like driving on a suspended license, failing to yield or obey traffic signals, blowing through a stop sign, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. However, many other traffic violations can result in two or more motor vehicle points.
We’ve included some of the most common violations, along with the corresponding amount of points for a conviction below, but it’s important for drivers to be familiar with the entire list. You should know what exactly constitutes a violation, and what the consequences will be if you’re caught and charged.
Common Moving Traffic Violations in New Jersey
- Failing to yield to a pedestrian in a crosswalk – 2 points
- Passing a vehicle that is yielding to a pedestrian in a crosswalk – 2 points
- Failing to observe traffic lanes – 2 points
- Tailgating – 5 points
- Failing to stop at a traffic light – 2 points
- Speeding, up to 14 miles over posted limit – 2 points
- Speeding, between 15 and 29 miles over posted limited – 4 points
- Speeding, 30 miles or higher over posted limit – 5 points
How Many Points Does It Take to Lose Your License?
Almost all of us have been guilty of a minor traffic infraction here or there, but if caught, the points assessed can add up quickly. Even if you have simply blown past a few stop signs, or were caught speeding one too many times, you could find yourself walking or taking the bus to work for a long time.
In New Jersey, your driving privileges will be suspended if you accumulate 12 or more points on your license. For every year in which you do not have points assessed on your license, and you are not charged with any violations, three points will be deducted from your total. You can begin driving again once your points dip under 12.
If you’re caught driving with a license that has been suspended, the consequences can snowball, and you could face losing your license for a set, extended period of time. It’s important to keep track of your points, and to obey all of the state’s requirements if you do have your license suspended to avoid further penalties.
For more information regarding traffic violations, New Jersey’s points system, or how to reduce the points on your license, contact Scott Gorman today. Scott is a leading DWI lawyer in Essex County The Gorman Law Firm who represents drivers who are in danger of license suspension or who have their licenses suspended in New Jersey.
Published in Categories: DUI / DWI