Need to Keep Your License? Contact a Bergen County DUI Defense Lawyer
Along with fines, jail time and other potential penalties, when you face charges for driving under the influence (DUI) or a DUI refusal in Bergen County, New Jersey, you are also facing a potential long-term driver’s license suspension. The term of driver’s license suspension increases for repeat offenders, and for commercial driver’s license (CDL) holders, a second DUI charge can result in permanent revocation of your right to drive for a living. If you are facing charges for DWI, a DUI Refusal or both, a good Bergen County DUI defense lawyer can use the law to protect your right to drive, and will fight aggressively to minimize any other potential consequences of your arrest.
In order to protect your driver’s license after a DUI arrest in Bergen County, you will need to pursue an aggressive defense strategy. In many cases, it is possible to avoid a driver’s license suspension (or at least reduce the term of suspension), but only if you take affirmative steps to prevent a maximum sentence. Bergen County DUI defense lawyer Scott A. Gorman has more than 10 years of experience helping New Jersey drivers protect their driver’s licenses.
Term of Driver’s License Suspension for Bergen County, New Jersey DUIs and Breathalyzer Refusals
For a first-time DUI where your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was 0.08 or 0.09 percent, you can lose your driver’s license for three months. If you BAC was 0.10 percent or above, you are facing a driver’s license suspension of 7 to 12 months.
First-Time DUI Refusal
For a first-time DUI Refusal, meaning a refusal of the Breathalyzer or other BAC test, you can lose your license for 7 to 12 months. This is true even if you were not actually driving under the influence at the time of your arrest. A DUI refusal is a separate and additional charge on top of a DUI, and you do not need to be found guilty of DUI in order to be found guilty of a DUI refusal.
If you have one previous DUI conviction within the last 10 years, you are facing a two-year driver’s license suspension for your second-time DUI.
Second-Time Breathalyzer Refusal
The term of driver’s license suspension for a second-time DUI Refusal is also two years if you have a prior DUI conviction within 10 years of your DUI Refusal charge. Once again, you can lose your license for a DUI refusal even if you are not convicted of driving under the influence.
Third or Subsequent DUI or DUI Refusal Requires the Assistance of a Bergen County DUI Defense Lawyer
In Bergen County and all throughout New Jersey, a third or subsequent DUI or DUI Refusal within a 10-year period carries a driver’s license suspension of 10 years if you have three or more prior DUI convictions or if you have two prior DUI convictions with the most recent DUI conviction having occurred within the last 10 years, and if you are charged with DUI and DUI Refusal under those circumstances, you could lose your license for a total of 20 years.
CDL Suspension and Revocation for DUI
If you hold a commercial driver’s license, you can lose your CDL for a DUI on the job or on personal time in your own personal vehicle. In addition to facing suspension of your ordinary driver’s license, as a commercial driver, you can also face:
- A 12-month CDL suspension for a first-time DUI; and,
- Permanent revocation of your CDL for a second-time DUI.
Charged with a DUI? Contact a Bergen County DUI Defense Attorney for a Free Consultation
If you are facing a DUI or DUI Refusal charge in Bergen County, it is important that you speak with a lawyer as soon as possible. You may have several defenses available, and you may need to act quickly in order to avoid jeopardizing your case. To schedule a free consultation with DUI defense attorney Scott A. Gorman, please call (201) 489-9199 or contact us online now.