Fight Your First Drunk Driving Charge with a Bergen County DUI Attorney
Facing a DWI charge in Bergen County, New Jersey is a serious matter. Even if your traffic stop was your first run-in with the police, you are facing significant penalties, and having a DWI conviction on your record can impact your life in ways that you could not have previously imagined.
New Jersey Imposes Severe Penalties for First-Time DWIs
While a DWI is not technically a criminal offense in New Jersey – it is classified as a traffic offense similar to speeding or reckless driving – the consequences are, nevertheless, severe. For a first-time DWI offense in Bergen County, you can face penalties including:
- $250-$400 fine
- $275 in additional fees
- $1,000/year surcharge for three years
- Three-month driver’s license suspension
- Up to 30 days in jail
- 12 to 48 hours of mandatory alcohol education at a cost of $230 per day
This assumes that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was just 0.08 or 0.09 percent. If your BAC was 0.10 percent or above, you are facing additional fines and a driver’s license suspension of up to 12 months. If your BAC was above 0.14 percent, the judge may also require you to purchase and install ignition interlock devices for each of your vehicles for 12 months after you regain your license.
In addition, although a DWI is not a criminal conviction, it still goes on your permanent driving record, and DWIs are not eligible for expungement. As a result, if you lose your case at trial, you could face consequences such as increased insurance rates and difficulty finding a job for years – if not decades – to come. Additionally, if you receive another DWI charge within the next 10 years, you will be charged as a repeat offender, and for a second offense you could face a two-year driver’s license suspension and 90 days in jail.
Aggressive Defense Strategies for DWI Charges in Bergen County, NJ
Bergen County DWI defense attorney Scott A. Gorman has over a decade of experience representing clients in the New Jersey state courts. He has handled hundreds of cases, and he takes an aggressive approach focused on securing the best possible outcome in light of the circumstances at hand. From asserting clients’ constitutional protections to challenging police officers’ arrest procedures and the reliability of breath test results, Scott uses a variety of defense strategies that he custom-tailors to the unique facts of each individual client’s case.
If you are facing charges in Bergen County for a first-time DWI, your choice of legal representation matters. You cannot afford to take chances, and you cannot risk putting your future in the hands of an inexperienced attorney. Scott knows what it takes to win, and he is passionate about securing justice for his clients. To find out how he can help you, schedule a free consultation today.
Schedule a Free Consultation at The Gorman Law Firm to Speak with a Bergen County DUI Attorney
To speak with DUI defense attorney Scott A. Gorman about your first-time DWI charge in Bergen County, please call (201) 489-9199 or submit your case online. There are important deadlines in DWI cases that you cannot afford to miss, so contact The Gorman Law Firm now to put our experience on your side.