DUI Defense Attorney Serving Hackensack and All of Bergen County, NJ
In New Jersey, driving under the influence (DUI) convictions carry severe consequences. Even though a DUI is considered a “traffic offense” rather than a crime, individuals who are convicted can still face fines, other financial penalties, loss of driving privileges and jail time. Additionally, as a traffic offense, a DUI is not eligible for expungement, and this means that your conviction could very well stay on your record for the rest of your life.
The good news is this: There are numerous potential defenses to DUI charges in New Jersey. Regardless of whether you believe you were intoxicated, you “failed” the field sobriety tests or you blew above 0.08 percent on the Alcotest, your case is far from over. With more than a decade of experience, attorney Scott Gorman has successfully defended numerous clients against DUI charges under a broad range of circumstances, and he can use this experience to protect you in Bergen County.
DUI Defenses in New Jersey
Some of the potential defenses to DUI charges in New Jersey include:
Unlawful Traffic Stop or Arrest
If you were stopped without reasonable suspicion or arrested without probable cause, any evidence obtained after your traffic stop or arrest may be inadmissible in court.
Faulty Breath Test Results
Faulty calibration, improper test administration and various other issues can result in “false positives” for blood alcohol concentration (BAC) readings above the legal limit.
Improper Administration of Field Sobriety Tests (FSTs)
Improper administration of the field sobriety tests and misinterpretation of suspects’ performance on the FSTs can render the results inherently unreliable.
You Were Not Actually Driving Under the Influence
Whether there are other explanations for your alleged erratic driving behavior or your BAC estimate is not an accurate representation of your BAC when you were driving, there are a variety of potential ways to challenge the government’s evidence that you were under the influence of alcohol when you were behind the wheel.
DUI Penalties in New Jersey
In New Jersey, the potential penalties for a DUI conviction vary depending upon whether you have one or more prior convictions on your record as well as whether any aggravating factors (such as causing an accident or being pulled over in a school zone or with minors in your vehicle) are involved in your case. Broadly speaking, the potential penalties include:
- Hundreds of dollars in fines and fees
- $1,000/year insurance surcharge for three years or $1,500/year for a third DWI occurring within three years of the second DWI
- Loss of driving privileges for months or years
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for months or years
- Jail time (up to 30 days for a first-time offense)
- Mandatory enrollment at an Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center (IDRC) at your expense
Learn More about Your Case
When facing a DUI charge in New Jersey, it is important to learn as much about your situation as possible. In addition to scheduling a free initial consultation, we encourage you to read:
- 5 Critical Mistakes After a DUI Arrest in New Jersey
- Refusing a Breath Test in New Jersey
- Driving Drunk and Fleeing the Scene
- Challenging a DUI Conviction
Contact Us Now for a Free Initial Consultation
To speak with Hackensack defense attorney Scott Gorman about your New Jersey DUI case, please call 201-381-4863 or contact us online. We will schedule your free initial consultation as soon as possible.