Hudson County Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with a crime in Hudson County, or if you are facing the severe consequences of a DUI or DWI arrest, it is important that you speak with a Hudson county criminal defense lawyer or Hudson County DWI lawyer as soon as possible. While it may be months until your trial, there are some steps in your case that will happen quickly, and seeking legal representation now is the best way to reduce your risk for life-altering consequences.
Scott Gorman is a Hudson County criminal defense attorney who represents adults and juveniles charged with DUI/DWI, drug crimes, domestic violence, and other crimes in New Jersey. With more than a decade of experience, he knows what to expect when dealing with state prosecutors, and he knows what it takes to secure a favorable result at trial. Attorney Scott Gorman can help you, but only if you pick up the phone. For a free and confidential consultation, call 201-489-9199 now.
Proven Hudson County Criminal Defense Lawyer for Criminal, Drunk Driving, Juvenile and Expungement Cases
In New Jersey, DUI/DWI and all criminal offenses carry the potential for fines and jail time. Many offenses carry additional penalties as well. Regardless of the offense for which you have been arrested, a conviction could stay with you for the rest of your life, and mitigating the long-term consequences of your arrest should be your top priority.
Unlike other states, New Jersey does not classify crimes as felonies and misdemeanors. Instead, we have “indictable offenses,” “petty disorderly persons offenses,”and “disorderly persons offenses.” The penalties for petty disorderly persons offenses can be up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine. If you have been charged with an indictable offense, you could be facing years or decades in prison and tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars in fines.
Domestic violence offenses include assault, kidnapping, child abuse, stalking, and sexual assault. When committed against a spouse, partner or other household member, these crimes carry enhanced penalties. Unfortunately, false accusations are common, and defendants are often forced to defend against made-up allegations.
Driving Under the Influence (DUI/DWI)
If you were arrested for drunk driving, you are facing a substantial loss of your driving privileges. You are also at risk for significant financial penalties, and a DUI/DWI conviction can impact virtually all aspects of your life. In order to protect yourself, you need an experienced Hudson County DUI lawyer.
Attorney Scott Gorman has experience representing clients charged with all types of drug crimes. He handles cases involving cultivation, manufacturing, trafficking and possession with intent to distribute marijuana, heroin, cocaine, ecstasy, methamphetamine, prescription pills and other drugs.
In New Jersey, many, (but not all), criminal convictions will eventually be eligible for expungement. If your conviction is eligible, having your record wiped clean could truly change your life.
Minors face unique challenges when charged with juvenile offenses in New Jersey. If you or your child needs juvenile defense, contact us to discuss your case in confidence today.
Q&A With Hudson County Criminal Lawyer Scott Gorman
Q: What is the statute of limitations for pressing criminal charges in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, the statute of limitations varies for different types of criminal offenses. For most crimes, the statutes of limitations are: (i) one year for disorderly persons offenses, and (ii) five years for indictable offenses. These limitations periods run from the date of the commission of the crime.
However, certain criminal offenses are not subject to any statute of limitations in New Jersey. These offenses include (but are not limited to):
- Causing or risking widespread injury or damage
Additionally, bribery of public officials, official misconduct and certain other similar related crimes are subject to a seven-year statute of limitations. Finally, when committed against a minor, criminal sexual contact and endangering the welfare of a child are subject to statutes of limitations that run, “five years [from] the victim’s attaining the age of 18 or . . . two years [from] the discovery of the offense by the victim, whichever is later.”
Q: What are the steps in a criminal case in Hudson County?
The steps in a criminal case can vary depending on the particular circumstances involved in a case and how the case progresses (i.e. if you are able to negotiate a favorable plea bargain or your lawyer needs to take your case to trial). Additionally, certain events (such as the State’s attempt to introduce inadmissible evidence) may require your Hudson County criminal lawyer to take additional steps in order to protect you. Generally speaking, however, the steps in a criminal case in Hudson County are:
- First appearance
- Pre-indictment proceedings
- Plea bargaining
- Seeking placement in a diversionary program
- Pre-sentence investigation
Q: What happens if I miss a court date in Hudson County?
Missing a court date in Hudson County can have severe consequences. For example, if you miss your first appearance, the judge can immediately issue a bench warrant for your arrest. If this happens, you will be sent to jail while your case is pending.
Q: What are the penalties for a disorderly persons offense in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, disorderly persons offenses are lesser offenses like misdemeanors in other states. The penalties you are facing depend on whether you have been charged with a “disorderly persons offense” or a “petty disorderly persons offense”:
- Disorderly persons offense – Up to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine
- Petty disorderly persons offense – Up to 30 days in jail and a $500 fine
Q: What are the penalties for a felony in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, indictable offenses are serious crimes that are typically referred to as felonies in other states. New Jersey has four “degrees” of indictable offenses with each degree carrying different potential penalties:
- First-degree indictable offense – 10 to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $200,000 for most offenses. The most-serious offenses carry up to 30 years in prison or life behind bars.
- Second-degree indictable offense – Five to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $150,000
- Third-degree indictable offense – Three to five years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000
- Fourth-degree indictable offense – Up to 18 months in prison and a fine of up to $10,000
Request a Free Initial Consultation with a Hudson County Criminal Defense Lawyer at The Gorman Law Firm
If you have a court date in Hudson County, do not wait until it is too late to seek legal representation. To schedule a free initial consultation with criminal defense lawyer Scott Gorman, call 201-489-9199 (Hackensack) or 973-796-3800 (Morristown) now.