Arrested for DUI in New Jersey? Learn Why You Need an Experienced Defense Lawyer

Many people incorrectly assume that driving under the influence (DUI) is not a serious offense. Maybe it is the fact that DUI charges are so common, or maybe it is the fact that a DUI is most people’s first introduction to the criminal justice system. But, if you are expecting to pay a fine, get a few points added to your driver’s license and then be on your way, let us disabuse you of this notion now.

In New Jersey, a DUI is a serious criminal offense. In fact, if you get convicted, the fines are likely to be among the least of your concerns. Even if this is your first offense, and even if you did not put anyone else in harm’s way, you are facing consequences that will touch all aspects of your life. If you have a prior DUI on your record, if you got pulled over in a school zone or if you caused an accident, then you could be literally fighting for your future at trial.

Penalties for a “Standard” First Offense

As you probably know by now, New Jersey’s legal limit for drivers over the age of 21 is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent. A DUI involving a BAC between 0.08 percent and 0.10 percent is considered a “standard” first-time offense, while drivers arrested with BACs above 0.10 are subject to enhanced penalties. In New Jersey, the penalties for a standard first-time DUI include:

  • Fines of $250 to $400
  • Insurance surcharges
  • A three-month driver’s license suspension
  • Up to 30 days in jail
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 6 to 12 months (following reinstatement of driving privileges)
  • 12 to 48 hours at an Intoxicated Driver’s Resource Center (IDRC) at your expense

Penalties for a Second Offense

The penalties for a DUI increase if you have a prior conviction on your record from the prior 10 years. New Jersey’s penalties for a second DUI offense include:

  • Fines of $500 to $1000
  • Insurance surcharges
  • A two-year driver’s license suspension
  • 48 hours to 90 days in jail
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for 6 to 12 months (following reinstatement of driving privileges)
  • Mandatory satisfaction of all screening, evaluation and referral requirements established by an IRDC at your expense

Penalties for a Third or Subsequent Offense

For a third or subsequent DUI offense within a 10-year period, the penalties become even more severe:

  • Fines of $1000
  • Insurance surcharges
  • A 10-year driver’s license suspension
  • 180 days in jail
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for one to three years (following reinstatement of driving privileges)
  • Revocation of all vehicle registrations and tags
  • Mandatory satisfaction of all screening, evaluation and referral requirements established by an IRDC at your expense

Do You Need a DUI Defense Lawyer in Hackensack, NJ?

If you are facing a first, second, third or subsequent DUI charge in Hackensack, defense attorney Scott Gorman can help you avoid unnecessary consequences. To discuss your case in a free and confidential consultation, call 201-489-9199 or contact us online now.

"...I can honestly say that Scott

made me feel as though I was his only client..."

- Kristin B.
"...I am very pleased to say

the Judge dismissed my case

based on one of the motions filed by Scott..."
- Melissa W.
"...Scott’s best quality was being able to explain

exactly what motions were filed and what the prosecutor would do next..."

- Ingrid N.
"...was  being charged with a DWI, but overcame the situation with his help...

He goes above and beyond for his clients..."

- Karla R.
"...Scott treats his clients

as if they were his own family

and I would highly recommend him to others."
- Anita S.
"...Throughout the process you did not treat me like a client,

but a family member in trouble..."

- Carlos M.