Drunk Driving Defense
Morris County DUI Lawyer
Don’t Let a DWI Conviction Change Your Life. Get Help From an Experienced Morris County DUI Lawyer
Have you been charged with driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) in Morris County? If so, do you know what is at stake in your case? Do you know what defenses you might be able to use to avoid a conviction? Most people have more at stake – and more defenses available – than they realize, and it is not until they speak with an experienced Morris County DUI lawyer that they gain a clear understanding of their situation.
Arrested for a DWI in New Jersey? You are Facing Possible Jail Time.
One fact that comes as a shock to most people who are facing a DUI charge in Morris County is that they are at risk for jail time. Under New Jersey law, all drunk driving offenses carry the potential for jail time, including “standard” first-time offenses involving a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) just above the legal limit of 0.08 percent. The potential jail sentences for DUI convictions in Morris County include:
- First-time offense: Up to 30 days in jail
- Second-time offense: 2 to 90 days in jail
- Third-time and subsequence offenses: 180 days in jail
If you caused an accident or if your case involves any other “aggravating” circumstances, then the penalties you are facing could be far more severe.
Does this mean that you will automatically be sent to jail if you are convicted? Not necessarily. Judges in Morris County have discretion when imposing sentences for DUI and DWI; and, with the help of an experienced defense lawyer, you may be able to avoid jail even if you are not able to avoid penalties entirely.
How Can Morris County DUI Lawyer Scott Gorman Help with Your Case?
While there are several mistakes you need to avoid when facing a DUI or DWI charge, one of the biggest mistakes we see people make is trying to handle their drunk driving cases on their own. Typically, they do this because they assume that either: (i) they are innocent and the truth will prevail, (ii) they are guilty and there is nothing a lawyer can do to help them, or, (ii) they cannot afford to hire a lawyer.
These kinds of assumptions can be extremely costly, and, in most cases, they are entirely incorrect. If you are innocent, you can still be convicted. If you are guilty, you can still assert defenses successfully. Hiring a DUI defense lawyer is not expensive as you probably think, and an unmitigated sentence will almost certainly wind up being far more costly than what any upstanding Morris County DUI lawyer will charge you.
Speak with Morris County DUI Lawyer Scott Gorman for Free
For more information about what is at stake in your DWI case, please contact us to arrange a free initial consultation with Morris County defense attorney Scott Gorman. To schedule an appointment as soon as possible, call 201-489-9199 or get in touch online now