Whether you are returning to college or you have just started freshman year, being on campus is entirely unlike living at home with your parents. While you can now go out and party with friends whenever you want to, you also need to take responsibility for yourself—and you need to be prepared to face the consequences if you fail to do so.
Drinking under the age of 21 is illegal, and no one should drink to dangerous levels of excess. Likewise, no one should ever drink and drive. But, if you’ve made a mistake and are now facing a DWI charge, you need to look toward the future—and you need to do so with the help of an Essex County DWI lawyer.
5 Facts You Need to Know if You Got a DWI at College in New Jersey
Here are five important facts you need to know if you got a DWI at college in New Jersey:
1. Your Age Matters (Kind Of)
If you are under 21, you can get a DWI in New Jersey even if your blood alcohol concentration is below 0.08 percent. If you are 21 or older, your BAC must be 0.08 percent or above in order to trigger a DWI charge. However, even if you are over 21, you can still get a DWI regardless of your BAC if the arresting officer says that your driving ability was impaired.
2. You Were Required to Take the Breath Test
New Jersey has what is known as an “implied consent” law. This law requires you to take the breath test during a DWI stop (as long as the arresting officer follows the required procedures). If you refused the breath test, not only can you still face a DWI charge, but you can face a DWI refusal charge as well.
3. A DWI Conviction Could Impact Your Academics and Employment Prospects
In New Jersey, DWIs can carry fines, surcharges, driver’s license suspensions, jail time and other penalties. They can also negatively impact your academics and employment prospects. You may need to defend yourself at Judicial Affairs; and, if you get convicted in court, this could make it more difficult to get into graduate school or land a job.
4. There are Several Defenses to DWI Charges—Even if You Were Driving Drunk
While there are no guarantees, the good news is that there are several possible defenses to DWI charges in New Jersey. An experienced Essex County DWI lawyer will be able to examine all of the facts of your case and determine what defenses you have available.
5. You Should Talk to a DWI Lawyer Promptly
In order to protect yourself, you should talk to a DWI lawyer promptly. You need to make smart decisions, and you need to avoid mistakes that could jeopardize your defense and your future. You can get started with a free initial consultation, and you can schedule an appointment at The Gorman Law Firm 24/7.
Schedule a Free Consultation with Essex County DWI Lawyer Scott Gorman
Did you get a DWI at college in New Jersey? If so, Essex County DWI lawyer Scott Gorman can help. To schedule your free initial consultation, call 201-489-9199 or tell us how we can reach you online now.
Published in Categories: DUI / DWI