When you get convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) in New Jersey, one of the many consequences of your conviction is that you will face enhanced penalties if you get arrested again. New Jersey law imposes enhanced penalties for second, third and subsequent DUI offenses—including increased fines, longer jail sentences and longer driver’s license suspensions. But is there a max amount of DUI charges you can get? Morristown DUI lawyer Scott Gorman explains:
Technically, There Is No Max Amount of DUI Charges in New Jersey
Technically speaking, there is no max amount of DUI charges you can get in New Jersey. If you drive drunk and the police pull you over, they can—and will—arrest you for DUI. This is true whether you are a first-time offender, you are a repeat offender with your driving privileges restored, or you are driving under the influence on a suspended driver’s license.
Aside from putting you in jail, the police, judges and prosecutors in New Jersey cannot stop you from driving drunk if you choose to do so. You can drive on a suspended license, and if you have an ignition interlock device in your car, you can borrow someone else’s vehicle. Of course, these are not recommended, but if you aren’t in jail, there is nothing to physically stop you from getting behind the wheel after having too much to drink.
The Legal Consequences of Getting Two (or More) DUIs in Morristown
But what about from a legal perspective? When you get arrested for DUI, your driver’s license will be suspended and you will be forced to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle. This is true regardless of your DUI history. Depending on the circumstances of your case, the judge may also sentence you to jail time before your driver’s license suspension starts to run. For standard (BAC between 0.08 and 0.10 percent) first, second, third and subsequent DUI convictions, the potential penalties include:
- First-Time DUI – Up to 30 days in jail, driver’s license suspension until you install an ignition interlock device, and mandatory ignition interlock device installation for three months.
- Second–Time DUI – Two to 90 days in jail (or in an IRDC), a one to two-year driver’s license suspension, and two to four years of mandatory ignition interlock device installation.
- Third or Subsequent DUI – Up to 180 days in jail, an eight-year driver’s license suspension, and two to four years of mandatory ignition interlock device installation.
Keep in mind that these are the penalties for a standard DUI offense. If you have a BAC above 0.10 percent, if you get pulled over in a school zone or if you cause an accident while driving drunk, these factors could increase the consequences of your arrest significantly. However, even in these cases, you may be able to have your driving privileges restored eventually—although this may come after a long period of incarceration.
Contact Morristown DUI Lawyer Scott Gorman for Free
Are you worried about the consequences of facing a DUI conviction in New Jersey? If so, we encourage you to contact us promptly for more information. To speak with Morristown DUI lawyer Scott Gorman in confidence, call 973-796-3800 or request a free consultation online now.
Published in Categories: DUI / DWI